Presentation

Presentation of the Rating Agency

Over the last ten years, economic actors in French-speaking West Africa have begun to adopt the qualitative approach of transparency and good governance inspired by the financial rating exercise.

French-speaking Central Africa has followed the West African region lead, and contributes to making financial ratings an increasingly used tool for assessing credit quality.

Although the widespread use of financial ratings by investors as a tool for measuring their exposure to the risk of default by issuers of securities is still limited, the changes experienced by the financial and banking sector since 2009 are encouraging.

Indeed, the West African regional financial market instituted in 2009, financial rating as a means of assessing the risk of default of issuers and structured financing which allows, in particular to :

– Limit, under certain conditions, the use of guarantees and, consequently, the increase in the cost of bond issues;

– Reduce the asymmetry of information between the capital providers and the entities seeking to finance their development through the financial market.

By giving confidence to investors, the regulatory authorities are providing the means to improve the depth of the financial market and its development, in order to make it a certain financing niche for the sub-regional economy, following the model of other financial marketplaces in the world.

In this game, the recent regulatory decisions in the banking sector that introduced the financial rating for the evaluation of the counterparty risks of banks, are a strong signal of the consideration of the sub-regional banking market environment’s evolution over the last decade.

Bloomfield Investment Corporation’s contribution during this period has been through a constant work of pedagogy (within the framework of the accompaniment of the capital market authorities and training sessions, seminars, conferences) and the instillation of a rating culture through practice among private and institutional economic actors in French-speaking Africa and beyond.

Using methodologies and rigorous methods common to all financial rating agencies, Bloomfield Investment Corporation considers the contextual framework of operations of the rated entities, so as to provide an adequate response to the markets’ expectations.

The francophone economic zones of West and Central Africa are working to close the gaps that existed with the rest of the world in terms of improving the credit quality of various stakeholders.

Since its creation in 2007, Bloomfield Investment Corporation has unceasingly contributed to the evolution of the economic world’s view on Africa, through its analyses and the establishment of a framework for reflection, discussion and expression of the views of economic and financial actors.

Thus, since 2017, Bloomfield Investment Corporation has created a country risk debate conference, to give an African perspective of the interpretation of the risk of African countries.

The concept is to each year, publicly debate on a country risk report produced by the rating agency, which maps the risk of a given country, highlighting its assets, opportunities and areas of improvement, so as to provide better visibility to investors and development partners.

The agency also recently established economic forecasts, thus providing a reading grid of the evolution of economic conditions of a zone, in real time.

Bloomfield Investment Corporation, the first financial rating agency in French-speaking Africa, intervenes with clients in Africa and Europe through:  

– Credit Rating;

– Economic and financial intelligence (Market Intelligence);

– A counterparty risk management solution for SMEs;

– Seminars and conferences.

 

X

Présentation

QUI SOMMES NOUS

Depuis plus d’une dizaine d’années, les acteurs économiques en Afrique de l’Ouest francophone, ont commencés à prendre le pli de la démarche qualitative de transparence et de bonne gouvernance inspirée par l’exercice de la notation financière.

L’Afrique centrale francophone a emboité le pas à la région ouest-africaine, et contribue à faire de la notation financière un outil de plus en plus en usité pour l’évaluation de la qualité de crédit.

Si la généralisation de la notation financière, par les investisseurs, comme instrument de mesure de leur exposition au risque de défaut des émetteurs de titre reste encore limitée, les changements connus par la place financière et bancaire depuis 2009, sont encourageants.

En effet, le marché régional financier ouest africain a institué en 2009 la notation financière comme moyen d’appréciation du risque de défaut des émetteurs et de financements structurés qui permet, notamment de :

  • Limiter, sous certaines conditions, le recours à la garantie et, conséquemment, le surenchérissement du coût des émissions obligataires ;
  • Réduire l’asymétrie d’information entre les apporteurs en capital et les entités en quête de financement de leur développement par le marché financier.

En donnant la confiance aux investisseurs, les autorités de régulation se donnent les moyens d’améliorer la profondeur du marché financier et son développement, pour en faire un créneau de de financement certain de l’économie sous régionale, à l’instar de toutes les autres places financières, ailleurs dans le monde.

Dans ce jeu, les récentes décisions réglementaires dans le secteur bancaire qui introduisent la notation financière pour l’évaluation des risques de contrepartie des banques, sont un signal fort de la prise en compte de l’évolution de l’environnement du marché bancaire sous régional au cours de la dernière décennie.

La contribution de Bloomfield Investment Corporation pendant cette période s’est faite par un travail constant de pédagogie (dans le cadre de l’accompagnement des autorités du marché des capitaux et de session de formation, de séminaires, de conférences) et d’insufflation d’une culture à la notation par la pratique auprès des acteurs économiques privés, institutionnels en Afrique francophone et au-delà.

Utilisant des méthodologies et des méthodes de rigueur communes à toute les agences de notation financière, Bloomfield Investment Corporation, tient compte du cadre contextuel d’opérations des entités notées, pour apporter une réponse adaptée aux attentes des marchés.

Les zones économiques francophone de l’Afrique de l’Ouest et du centre, travaillent à combler les écarts qui existaient avec le reste du monde en matière d’amélioration de la qualité de crédit des divers intervenants.

Depuis sa création en 2007, Bloomfield Investment Corporation n’a cessé de contribuer à l’évolution du regard du monde économique sur l’Afrique, non seulement par ses analyses mais aussi par la mise en place de cadre de réflexion, de discussion et de prise de parole des acteurs économique et financier.

Ainsi, depuis 2017, Bloomfield Investment Corporation a créé, un concept de conférence débat sur le risque pays, pour donner une perspective africaine de l’interprétation du risque des pays africains.

Le concept est de débattre publiquement, chaque année, d’un rapport de risque pays, produit par l’agence de notation et qui établit la cartographie de risque d’un pays donné, en mettant en relief ses atouts, ses opportunités et ses axes d’amélioration afin de donner une meilleure visibilité aux investisseurs et aux partenaires au développement.

L’agence établit également, depuis peu, des prévisions économiques ; donnant, ainsi, une grille de lecture de l’évolution des conditions économiques d’une zone, en temps réel.

Bloomfield Investment Corporation, première agence de notation financière d’Afrique francophone intervient auprès de clients en Afrique et en Europe par :

  • La notation financière (Credit Rating) ;
  • L’intelligence économique et financière (Market Intelligence) ;
  • Une solution de gestion de risque de contrepartie pour les PME ;
  • Les séminaires et les conférences.

 

X